IAMCR - HISTORY SECTION

MINUTES

of the Business meeting on Friday, 29.7.2016 at 4 p.m. -5.20 p.m. in Ken Edwards building room 527, University of Leicester

26 members present

Chairs: Chandrika Kaul, Epp Lauk Elections Chair: Jürgen Wilke

AGENDA

- 1. Brief report on the meeting of the IC and Heads of Sections and Working Groups on 26.7.2016 (Chandrika Kaul)
- 2. Feedback to the 2016 conference from participants.
- 3. Elections of new Heads of the History Section
- 4. Suggestions of the topics for the next conference.

1. Co-Chair Chandrika Kaul reported about the meetings of the IC and the Heads of Sections and Working Groups.

The important issues discussed concerned attendance, the participation fee, the topic and languages of the next conference. Possibly, many sessions will be held in Spanish.

2. Feedback to Leicester conference.

Chandrika Kaul reported that the Section received 91 submissions by the deadline of Feb. 15, 2016. After the review process 54 abstracts were accepted. After some withdrawals, 41 presentations were included in the programme. Because of the situation in Turkey, three Turkish colleagues were unable to participate. In addition, there were a couple of no-shows and last minute withdrawals. Finally, 35 papers were presented in 11 sessions.

The participants appreciated that they had at least 20 minutes for presenting and discussing their papers. Attendance in the sessions varied from 9 to 36.

No theme panels were organised. Participants suggested having panels at the next conference.

3. Elections of the Heads.

The elections followed the 'Sections and Working Groups Election Rules' http://iamcr.org/governance/swg-rules

Jürgen Wilke was elected to chair elections part of the meeting.

Three candidates were registered:

Chandrika Kaul

Nelson Ribeiro

Gideon Kouts

The previous Business meeting in Montreal in 2015 had decided: "The Section members have to agree about the structure of the Section's leadership before the election period (which begins 8 weeks before the next Business meeting)". As this decision had not been followed, the first election issue was to decide, which of the options suggested in the Rules, is the best for the History Section.

The considered options were:

- a) 2 Co-Chairs
- b) 1 Chair and 1 Vice-Chair
- c) 1 Chair and 2 Vice-Chairs

The meeting, after a lively and lengthy discussion and vote, agreed upon option (b) to elect a Chair and Vice-Chair.

Voting results:

Option (a): 4 votes Option (b): 13 votes Option (c): 3 votes

Chandrika Kaul and Nelson Costa Ribeiro ran for the Chair. They briefly presented their statements and ideas about the future of the History Section.

Results of voting:

Chandrika Kaul 8 votes Nelson Costa Ribeiro 18 votes

Nelson Costa Ribeiro (Catholic University of Portugal) was elected as the Chair of History Section.

One candidate – Gideon Kouts – ran for the Vice-Chair.

Results of voting:

15 yes

4 no

7 abstain

Gideon Kouts (Universite Paris 8, France) was elected as the Vice-Chair of History Section.

4. Suggestions for topics for the next conference.

The next IAMCR conference will be held in Cartagena, Colombia on July 16-20, 2017. The main theme of the conference is: *New Discourses and New Territorialities: Cultural and political mutations and communication*

One topic for the History Section's cfp was suggested and briefly discussed:

"Communication and (im)migration."

Participants can send their suggestions to the new Chair and Vice-Chair (nelson.ribeiro@fch.lisboa.ucp.pt; gkouts@orange.fr)

The meeting ended at 5.20 p.m.

Minutes written by Epp Lauk in Leicester, July 29, 2016.